top of page


2009 Nobel Prize Award in Medicine

The 2009 Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded to three American scientists Elizabeth Blackburn, Carol Greider and Jack Szostak for the discovery of “how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase.” See IAGG's official reaction and read their press release dated December 10, 2009.

IAGG celebrates its 60th anniversary

IAGG blows its 60 candles in the presence of Mr. Yves LETERME, Prime Minister of Belgium. The Association was founded in July 1950, when a group of twenty multidisciplinary international researchers (demographers, sociologists, biologists, physiologists…) met in Liège, Belgium. Their aim: get a comprehensive understanding of the Ageing process by studying all its different components. Since, IAGG has become an international organization, with 71 national societies members representing 64 countries over five continents: Europe, North America, South America, Asia/Oceania and more recently Africa. Today, it represents more than 40.000 practitionners around the world. 

Please reload

bottom of page